Dispelling nutrition myths, ranting, and occasionally, raving

Why gluten-free OJ isn’t completely ridiculous

Leave a comment

url

I keep hearing people mock foods that are labelled gluten-free such as orange juice and corn chips. Because these foods naturally do not contain gluten they think that labelling them as GF is laughable and simply capitalizing on the trendiness of GF diets. Sure, they may be taking advantage of the popularity of GF diets at the moment but I don’t think that’s a good reason to complain. For people who have celiac disease every label must be carefully scrutinized for glutinous ingredients. Even if a food doesn’t contain any gluten, it may still have come in contact with a gluten-containing food during processing. Yes, it may seem a little absurd to label  OJ gluten-free but it can help to put your mind at ease if you do need to follow a strict gluten-free diet.

 

Advertisements

Author: Diana

I'm a registered dietitian from Nova Scotia, living and working in Ontario, Canada. My goal is to help people relearn how to have a healthy relationship with food.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s